Impact Events News


Mission Press Releases

  • Cosmic impacts implicated in both the rise and fall of dinosaurs
    Rutgers University - Thursday, May 16, 2002
    Posted on: 5/16/2002 6:04:04 PM PDT

  • Scientists Pinpoint Evidence of Meteorite Impact
    The Open University - Wednesday, May 15, 2002
    Posted on: 5/15/2002 7:17:13 AM PDT

  • Ocean ecosystems only altered following two great mass extinctions
    Harvard University - Monday, May 13, 2002
    Posted on: 5/13/2002 6:38:25 PM PDT

  • Radar Pushes Limits of Asteroid Impact Prediction
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Thursday, April 4, 2002
    Posted on: 4/5/2002 7:26:20 AM PDT

  • Tweak Temperatures of Smaller Asteroids to Deflect Them , UA Scientist Suggests
    University of Arizona - Thursday, April 4, 2002
    Posted on: 4/5/2002 7:25:20 AM PDT

  • Impact events' kinetic energy may be key to understanding the severity of mass extinctions
    Geological Society of America - Wednesday, April 3, 2002
    Posted on: 4/3/2002 9:45:27 PM PDT

  • Workshop on Scientific Requirements for Mitigation of Hazardous Comets and Asteroids
    National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - Tuesday, March 26, 2002
    Posted on: 3/26/2002 9:21:24 PM PDT

  • Rock solid evidence of Manicouagan impact causing earthquake
    Geological Society of America - Monday, March 25, 2002
    Posted on: 3/25/2002 7:37:03 PM PDT

  • UA Researcher Says Cataclysm That Resurfaced the Earth and The Inner Solar System 3.9 Billion Years Ago Was Caused By Asteroids, Not Comets
    University of Arizona - Wednesday, February 27, 2002
    Posted on: 2/27/2002 6:06:25 PM PDT

  • Geologists Weary, but Elated by Chicxulub Drilling Operations
    University of Arizona - Wednesday, February 20, 2002
    Posted on: 2/20/2002 6:59:29 PM PDT

  • Open Letter to the Australian Federal Government from International Scientists: Australia's contribution to Spaceguard
    Spaceguard Foundation - Friday, February 1, 2002
    Posted on: 2/1/2002 7:30:39 PM PDT

  • The Great Dying 250 Million Years Ago
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Monday, January 28, 2002
    Posted on: 1/28/2002 9:06:01 PM PDT

  • The K-T impact extinctions: Dust didn't do it
    Geological Society of America - Wednesday, January 23, 2002
    Posted on: 1/23/2002 4:44:24 PM PDT

  • University of Arizona scientists Begin Field Work on Chicxulub Drilling Project
    University of Arizona - Monday, January 14, 2002
    Posted on: 1/14/2002 5:56:20 PM PDT

  • Position Statement International Astronomical Union (IAU) Working Group on Near Earth Objects (WGNEO)
    International Astronomical Union - Saturday, January 5, 2002
    Posted on: 1/5/2002 5:24:42 PM PDT

  • Inherent speed limit governs how quickly life bounces back after extinction, UC Berkeley research shows
    University of California Berkeley - Thursday, January 3, 2002
    Posted on: 1/3/2002 9:37:01 AM PDT

  • Implementation of the Recommendations of the UK NEO Task Force: An Update
    British National Space Centre - Wednesday, January 2, 2002
    Posted on: 1/2/2002 8:19:45 PM PDT

  • British National Space Science Centre to be the UK Information
    Space Foundation - Tuesday, January 1, 2002
    Posted on: 1/1/2002 9:29:59 PM PDT

  • The Comet and Asteroid Information Network (CAIN)
    Spaceguard UK - Saturday, December 29, 2001
    Posted on: 12/29/2001 5:56:49 PM PDT

  • Planetary Society Protests Stop to Near-Earth Object Observations
    Planetary Society - Wednesday, December 19, 2001
    Posted on: 12/19/2001 5:57:54 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases