Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • Exploding Asteroid Theory Strengthened by New Evidence Located in Ohio, Indiana
    University of Cincinnati - Wednesday, July 2, 2008
    Posted on: 7/2/2008 5:30:55 PM PDT

  • Rep. Rohrabacher Discusses 100th Anniversary of Tunguska Explosion Are We Prepared For Another?
    Rep. Rohrabacher - Saturday, June 28, 2008
    Posted on: 6/28/2008 10:25:03 AM PDT

  • Tunguska Explosion 100th Anniversary Press Conference
    Planetary Society - Saturday, June 28, 2008
    Posted on: 6/28/2008 10:23:00 AM PDT

  • 100 Years of Space Rock: The Tunguska Impact
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Saturday, June 28, 2008
    Posted on: 6/28/2008 10:21:21 AM PDT

  • NASA ER-2 Jet Finds New Type of Comet Dust Mineral
    Johnson Space Center - Friday, June 13, 2008
    Posted on: 6/13/2008 11:03:26 AM PDT

  • All in a spin record breaking asteroid discovered
    Science and Technology Facilities Council - Wednesday, May 28, 2008
    Posted on: 5/28/2008 7:41:53 AM PDT

  • Engineering researcher seeks answers to asteroid deflection
    University of Iowa - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
    Posted on: 5/27/2008 8:56:09 PM PDT

  • NASA Statement on Student Asteroid Calculations
    NASA HQ - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
    Posted on: 4/16/2008 1:06:33 PM PDT

  • Geologists Discover New Way of Estimating Size and Frequency of Meteorite Impacts
    National Science Foundation - Friday, April 11, 2008
    Posted on: 4/11/2008 5:44:39 PM PDT

  • IU Asteroid Program "records" final chapter
    Indiana University - Monday, April 7, 2008
    Posted on: 4/7/2008 8:45:08 AM PDT

  • UM-Led Team Finds Oldest Known Asteroids
    University of Maryland - Monday, March 24, 2008
    Posted on: 3/24/2008 3:22:48 PM PDT

  • Brown Scientist Answers How Peruvian Meteorite Made It to Earth
    Brown University - Thursday, March 13, 2008
    Posted on: 3/13/2008 1:10:00 PM PDT

  • Canadian astronomers on hunt for meteor
    University of Western Ontario - Friday, March 7, 2008
    Posted on: 3/7/2008 11:18:02 AM PDT

  • Planetary Society Names Winners of $50,000 Asteroid Tagging Competition
    Planetary Society - Tuesday, February 26, 2008
    Posted on: 2/26/2008 6:07:04 PM PDT

  • First near-Earth triple asteroid discovered by Arecibo Observatory astronomers a mere 7 million miles from Earth
    Cornell University - Friday, February 15, 2008
    Posted on: 2/15/2008 10:01:13 AM PDT

  • Planetary Society Takes Aim at Target Earth
    Planetary Society - Tuesday, January 29, 2008
    Posted on: 1/29/2008 8:58:23 PM PDT

  • NASA Scientists Get First Images of Earth Flyby Asteroid
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Saturday, January 26, 2008
    Posted on: 1/26/2008 4:10:06 PM PDT

  • Asteroid to Make Rare Close Flyby of Earth January 29
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Thursday, January 24, 2008
    Posted on: 1/24/2008 5:14:45 PM PDT

  • Seismic Images Show Dinosaur-Killing Meteor Made Bigger Splash
    University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas - Wednesday, January 23, 2008
    Posted on: 1/23/2008 9:12:07 PM PDT

  • Recovering from a mass extinction
    University of Bristol - Friday, January 18, 2008
    Posted on: 1/18/2008 8:33:22 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases