Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • Study Finds that a Single Impact Killed the Dinosaurs
    University of Missouri - Tuesday, November 28, 2006
    Posted on: 11/28/2006 3:34:15 PM PDT

  • Astronomers at Arecibo Observatory confirm asteroid 'KW4' is not a threat to Earth - at least for a thousand years
    Cornell University - Thursday, November 16, 2006
    Posted on: 11/16/2006 11:56:26 AM PDT

  • Images of Dwarf Planet Ceres
    W.M. Keck Observatory - Tuesday, October 17, 2006
    Posted on: 10/17/2006 8:48:54 PM PDT

  • First detailed pictures of asteroid reveal bizarre system
    University of Michigan - Thursday, October 12, 2006
    Posted on: 10/12/2006 7:13:08 PM PDT

  • Near infrared mapping of Ceres surface
    American Astronomical Society - Wednesday, October 11, 2006
    Posted on: 10/11/2006 10:38:18 AM PDT

  • Asteroids, Comets, Planets: Cut From Same Cloth?
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Tuesday, October 10, 2006
    Posted on: 10/10/2006 8:46:05 PM PDT

  • Students save Earth from asteroid in Space Foundation virtual lab
    Space Foundation - Thursday, October 5, 2006
    Posted on: 10/5/2006 10:14:42 AM PDT

  • Association of Space Explorers Committee on Near-Earth Objects (NEOs)
    Association of Space Explorers (ASE) - Wednesday, August 23, 2006
    Posted on: 8/23/2006 11:55:33 AM PDT

  • Association of Space Explorers Workshops on Near-Earth Objects (NEOs) Deflection Policy
    Association of Space Explorers (ASE) - Monday, August 14, 2006
    Posted on: 8/14/2006 4:54:54 PM PDT

  • Asteroid Aspirations - Arkansas Center for Space and Planetary Sciences receives NASA funding to continue operations
    University of Arkansas - Monday, July 31, 2006
    Posted on: 7/31/2006 7:11:24 PM PDT

  • Attention Astronomers: Here's Your Chance to Save the World!
    Planetary Society - Wednesday, July 26, 2006
    Posted on: 7/26/2006 5:45:54 PM PDT

  • Scientists Gaining Clearer Picture of Comet Makeup and Origin
    Johns Hopkins University - Friday, July 14, 2006
    Posted on: 7/14/2006 10:44:15 AM PDT

  • Three new 'Trojan' asteroids found sharing Neptune's orbit
    Carnegie Institution - Thursday, June 15, 2006
    Posted on: 6/15/2006 9:30:03 PM PDT

  • Big Bang in Antarctica: Killer Crater Found Under Ice
    Ohio State University - Friday, June 2, 2006
    Posted on: 6/2/2006 9:09:19 AM PDT

  • ESA's new camera follows disintegration of a comet
    European Space Agency - Friday, May 19, 2006
    Posted on: 5/19/2006 7:01:10 PM PDT

  • Palomar Observes Broken Comet
    California Institute of Technology - Monday, May 15, 2006
    Posted on: 5/15/2006 1:06:20 PM PDT

  • NASA Clarifies Information on Comet 3P/Schwassmann-Wachmann 3 Approach
    NASA HQ - Thursday, April 27, 2006
    Posted on: 4/27/2006 11:03:44 AM PDT

  • Daughters of Deep Impact
    University of Maryland - Saturday, April 22, 2006
    Posted on: 4/22/2006 4:07:24 PM PDT

  • Mercury's Formation Impact Splattered Earth with Material
    Royal Astronomical Society - Thursday, April 6, 2006
    Posted on: 4/6/2006 10:53:49 AM PDT

  • Asteroids: treasures of the past and a threat to the future
    European Space Agency - Tuesday, April 4, 2006
    Posted on: 4/4/2006 8:52:59 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases