Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • Asteroid Detection and Science
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Wednesday, December 27, 2006
    Posted on: 12/27/2006 7:40:31 PM PDT

  • Naval Research Laboratory scientists analyze Comet Wild 2 samples
    Naval Research Laboratory - Friday, December 22, 2006
    Posted on: 12/22/2006 10:22:09 AM PDT

  • Stardust Mission Findings Override Previous Beliefs
    University of Washington - Thursday, December 14, 2006
    Posted on: 12/14/2006 8:59:07 PM PDT

  • Unlocking the frozen secrets of comet Wild 2
    Carnegie Institution - Thursday, December 14, 2006
    Posted on: 12/14/2006 6:57:29 PM PDT

  • Invitation to a Planetary Society Press Conference: Planetary Society Offers $50,000 Prize for Asteroid Tagging Designs
    Planetary Society - Tuesday, December 12, 2006
    Posted on: 12/12/2006 4:49:48 PM PDT

  • Regional nuclear war could devastate global climate
    Rutgers University - Monday, December 11, 2006
    Posted on: 12/11/2006 3:20:34 PM PDT

  • Study Finds that a Single Impact Killed the Dinosaurs
    University of Missouri - Tuesday, November 28, 2006
    Posted on: 11/28/2006 3:34:15 PM PDT

  • Astronomers at Arecibo Observatory confirm asteroid 'KW4' is not a threat to Earth - at least for a thousand years
    Cornell University - Thursday, November 16, 2006
    Posted on: 11/16/2006 11:56:26 AM PDT

  • Images of Dwarf Planet Ceres
    W.M. Keck Observatory - Tuesday, October 17, 2006
    Posted on: 10/17/2006 8:48:54 PM PDT

  • First detailed pictures of asteroid reveal bizarre system
    University of Michigan - Thursday, October 12, 2006
    Posted on: 10/12/2006 7:13:08 PM PDT

  • Near infrared mapping of Ceres surface
    American Astronomical Society - Wednesday, October 11, 2006
    Posted on: 10/11/2006 10:38:18 AM PDT

  • Asteroids, Comets, Planets: Cut From Same Cloth?
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Tuesday, October 10, 2006
    Posted on: 10/10/2006 8:46:05 PM PDT

  • Students save Earth from asteroid in Space Foundation virtual lab
    Space Foundation - Thursday, October 5, 2006
    Posted on: 10/5/2006 10:14:42 AM PDT

  • Association of Space Explorers Committee on Near-Earth Objects (NEOs)
    Association of Space Explorers (ASE) - Wednesday, August 23, 2006
    Posted on: 8/23/2006 11:55:33 AM PDT

  • Association of Space Explorers Workshops on Near-Earth Objects (NEOs) Deflection Policy
    Association of Space Explorers (ASE) - Monday, August 14, 2006
    Posted on: 8/14/2006 4:54:54 PM PDT

  • Asteroid Aspirations - Arkansas Center for Space and Planetary Sciences receives NASA funding to continue operations
    University of Arkansas - Monday, July 31, 2006
    Posted on: 7/31/2006 7:11:24 PM PDT

  • Attention Astronomers: Here's Your Chance to Save the World!
    Planetary Society - Wednesday, July 26, 2006
    Posted on: 7/26/2006 5:45:54 PM PDT

  • Scientists Gaining Clearer Picture of Comet Makeup and Origin
    Johns Hopkins University - Friday, July 14, 2006
    Posted on: 7/14/2006 10:44:15 AM PDT

  • Three new 'Trojan' asteroids found sharing Neptune's orbit
    Carnegie Institution - Thursday, June 15, 2006
    Posted on: 6/15/2006 9:30:03 PM PDT

  • Big Bang in Antarctica: Killer Crater Found Under Ice
    Ohio State University - Friday, June 2, 2006
    Posted on: 6/2/2006 9:09:19 AM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases