Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • Earliest meteorites provide new piece in planetary formation puzzle
    Imperial College London - Wednesday, September 21, 2005
    Posted on: 9/21/2005 11:42:01 AM PDT

  • Comet Tempel-1 May Have Formed in Giant Planets Region
    Goddard Space Flight Center - Monday, September 19, 2005
    Posted on: 9/19/2005 5:56:13 PM PDT

  • Asteroids Caused the Early Inner Solar System Cataclysm
    University of Arizona - Thursday, September 15, 2005
    Posted on: 9/15/2005 8:03:26 PM PDT

  • Comet collision 'Armageddon' unlikely
    Australian National University - Sunday, September 11, 2005
    Posted on: 9/11/2005 9:24:04 PM PDT

  • NASA Hubble: Largest Asteroid May Be Mini Planet With Water Ice
    Space Telescope Science Institute - Wednesday, September 7, 2005
    Posted on: 9/7/2005 9:57:24 PM PDT

  • Hayabusa Successfully Captures The Shape of Asteroid Itokawa
    Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) - Tuesday, September 6, 2005
    Posted on: 9/6/2005 2:31:36 PM PDT

  • NASA Finds Evidence Some Comets May Have Become Asteroids
    Ames Research Center - Monday, September 5, 2005
    Posted on: 9/5/2005 9:08:23 AM PDT

  • Burning asteroids may play 'more important climate role than previously recognized' - Asteroid dust may influence weather, study finds
    Sandia National Laboratories - Friday, August 26, 2005
    Posted on: 8/26/2005 8:29:14 AM PDT

  • Planetary Society Funds Search for Potentially Dangerous Near Earth Objects
    Planetary Society - Wednesday, August 17, 2005
    Posted on: 8/17/2005 10:11:30 PM PDT

  • Hayabusa Performes Star Tracker imaging of Asteroid Itokawa
    Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) - Monday, August 15, 2005
    Posted on: 8/15/2005 9:04:01 PM PDT

  • First triple asteroid system found
    University of California Berkeley - Wednesday, August 10, 2005
    Posted on: 8/10/2005 3:19:24 PM PDT

  • Rubble-pile minor planet Sylvia and her twins - VLT NACO instrument discovers first triple asteroid
    European Southern Observatory - Wednesday, August 10, 2005
    Posted on: 8/10/2005 3:18:03 PM PDT

  • Sedna Reveals Pristine Surface in Gemini Near-infrared Spectra
    Gemini Observatory - Thursday, April 14, 2005
    Posted on: 4/14/2005 9:25:22 PM PDT

  • Revised asteroid scale aids understanding of impact risk
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Tuesday, April 12, 2005
    Posted on: 4/12/2005 4:16:06 PM PDT

  • Scientists solve mystery of Meteor Crater's missing melted rocks
    University of Arizona - Wednesday, March 9, 2005
    Posted on: 3/9/2005 7:44:33 PM PDT

  • SwRI Researchers Show Giant Kuiper Belt Planetoid Sedna May Have Formed Far Beyond Pluto
    Southwest Research Institute - Monday, January 10, 2005
    Posted on: 1/10/2005 8:19:17 PM PDT

  • HAYABUSA's ion engines achieve 20,000 hours of Space Operation
    Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) - Thursday, December 30, 2004
    Posted on: 12/30/2004 5:39:34 PM PDT

  • Seismic Shaking Erased Small Impact Craters on Asteroid Eros
    University of Arizona - Friday, November 26, 2004
    Posted on: 11/26/2004 10:24:20 AM PDT

  • Good News for Pluto: Astronomers Say KBOs May Be Smaller Than Thought
    University of Arizona - Wednesday, November 10, 2004
    Posted on: 11/10/2004 7:05:51 PM PDT

  • Ecosystem remodelling among vertebrates during the Permian-Triassic extinction
    University of Bristol - Wednesday, November 3, 2004
    Posted on: 11/3/2004 9:11:32 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases