Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • ISAS "MUSES-C" Asteroid Mission Launched
    Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS) - Friday, May 9, 2003
    Posted on: 5/9/2003 7:32:54 AM PDT

  • Reaching for the Asteroids
    Royal Astronomical Society - Thursday, April 10, 2003
    Posted on: 4/10/2003 5:40:25 AM PDT

  • A UK Flotilla To Study Earth-Grazing Asteroids
    Open University - Thursday, April 10, 2003
    Posted on: 4/10/2003 5:35:44 AM PDT

  • Earth is approaching a cometary debris stream that might trigger an unusual Antarctic meteor shower this weekend
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Friday, February 28, 2003
    Posted on: 2/28/2003 6:45:53 PM PDT

  • Kuiper Prize Going to JPL Pioneer in Radar Study of Asteroids
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Wednesday, December 4, 2002
    Posted on: 12/4/2002 11:08:18 AM PDT

  • NASA's Stardust Views Asteroid Annefrank During Dress Rehearsal Encounter
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Monday, November 4, 2002
    Posted on: 11/4/2002 9:38:33 PM PDT

  • Comets: Complex Worlds
    American Astronomical Society - Wednesday, October 9, 2002
    Posted on: 10/9/2002 5:01:09 PM PDT

  • Science Workshop Reveals Evolving Perspective on Asteroid Threat
    National Optical Astronomy Observatory - Friday, September 6, 2002
    Posted on: 9/6/2002 11:59:21 AM PDT

  • Comets Break Up Far and Near
    NASA HQ - Thursday, September 5, 2002
    Posted on: 9/5/2002 10:30:32 AM PDT

  • A sharper look at near Earth asteroid 2002 NY40
    Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes - Tuesday, September 3, 2002
    Posted on: 9/3/2002 5:02:41 PM PDT

  • Digital Movie Shows Awesome Speed of Asteroid Close Approach
    National Optical Astronomy Observatory - Wednesday, August 21, 2002
    Posted on: 8/21/2002 10:25:26 AM PDT

  • SOHO Raises the Ante with Discovery of 500th Comet
    Goddard Space Flight Center - Wednesday, August 14, 2002
    Posted on: 8/14/2002 2:54:03 PM PDT

  • The Planetary Society Funds Sky Watchers
    Planetary Society - Thursday, August 1, 2002
    Posted on: 8/1/2002 6:46:57 AM PDT

  • Asteroid 2002 NT7: Potential Earth Impact In 2019 Ruled Out
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Monday, July 29, 2002
    Posted on: 7/29/2002 7:14:27 PM PDT

  • Asteroid Named after NRC Astronomer
    National Research Council (Canada) - Monday, July 29, 2002
    Posted on: 7/29/2002 7:13:46 PM PDT

  • Spectalcular Split Comet (57P/DU TOIT-NEUJMIN-DELPORTE)
    University of Hawaii - Thursday, July 25, 2002
    Posted on: 7/25/2002 2:23:28 PM PDT

  • Senate Space Roundtable on Asteroid Close Calls
    Prospace - Tuesday, July 2, 2002
    Posted on: 7/2/2002 6:40:22 PM PDT

  • SwRI researchers ask: Where have all the comets gone?
    Southwest Research Institute - Thursday, June 20, 2002
    Posted on: 6/20/2002 3:48:59 PM PDT

  • SwRI researchers identify asteroid breakup event in the main asteroid belt
    Southwest Research Institute - Wednesday, June 12, 2002
    Posted on: 6/12/2002 12:17:12 PM PDT

  • Hubble Hunts Down Odd Couples at the Fringes of Our Solar System
    Space Telescope Science Institute - Wednesday, April 17, 2002
    Posted on: 4/17/2002 6:19:31 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases