Asteroids and Comets News


Mission Press Releases

  • The Planetary Society Funds Sky Watchers
    Planetary Society - Thursday, August 1, 2002
    Posted on: 8/1/2002 6:46:57 AM PDT

  • Asteroid 2002 NT7: Potential Earth Impact In 2019 Ruled Out
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Monday, July 29, 2002
    Posted on: 7/29/2002 7:14:27 PM PDT

  • Asteroid Named after NRC Astronomer
    National Research Council (Canada) - Monday, July 29, 2002
    Posted on: 7/29/2002 7:13:46 PM PDT

  • Spectalcular Split Comet (57P/DU TOIT-NEUJMIN-DELPORTE)
    University of Hawaii - Thursday, July 25, 2002
    Posted on: 7/25/2002 2:23:28 PM PDT

  • Senate Space Roundtable on Asteroid Close Calls
    Prospace - Tuesday, July 2, 2002
    Posted on: 7/2/2002 6:40:22 PM PDT

  • SwRI researchers ask: Where have all the comets gone?
    Southwest Research Institute - Thursday, June 20, 2002
    Posted on: 6/20/2002 3:48:59 PM PDT

  • SwRI researchers identify asteroid breakup event in the main asteroid belt
    Southwest Research Institute - Wednesday, June 12, 2002
    Posted on: 6/12/2002 12:17:12 PM PDT

  • Hubble Hunts Down Odd Couples at the Fringes of Our Solar System
    Space Telescope Science Institute - Wednesday, April 17, 2002
    Posted on: 4/17/2002 6:19:31 PM PDT

  • European Space Agency to probe asteroid blind spot
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Friday, April 12, 2002
    Posted on: 4/12/2002 11:24:24 PM PDT

  • Comet hunter Carolyn Shoemaker to speak at Cornell April 21
    Cornell University - Friday, April 12, 2002
    Posted on: 4/12/2002 11:22:05 PM PDT

  • Some Asteroids Have Astronomers Seeing Double
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Thursday, April 11, 2002
    Posted on: 4/11/2002 11:38:57 PM PDT

  • Radar reveals five double asteroid systems orbiting each other near Earth, likely formed in close encounters with planet
    Cornell University - Thursday, April 11, 2002
    Posted on: 4/11/2002 10:06:04 PM PDT

  • Researchers find evidence for mechanism that creates near-Earth binary asteroids
    California Institute of Technology - Thursday, April 11, 2002
    Posted on: 4/11/2002 10:04:02 PM PDT

  • New study reveals twice as many asteroids as previously believed
    European Space Agency - Thursday, April 4, 2002
    Posted on: 4/5/2002 7:31:09 AM PDT

  • NASA Dryden, SWRO Search for Vulcanoids
    Dryden Flight Research Center - Wednesday, April 3, 2002
    Posted on: 4/3/2002 9:44:18 PM PDT

  • Bright Comet Meets Bright Galaxy
    Sky and Telescope - Monday, April 1, 2002
    Posted on: 4/1/2002 9:12:52 PM PDT

  • See A Comet Tonight
    Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics - Sunday, March 24, 2002
    Posted on: 3/23/2002 10:49:12 PM PDT

  • Deadline Approaches for Next Round of Shoemaker NEO Grants
    Planetary Society - Tuesday, March 12, 2002
    Posted on: 3/12/2002 3:09:00 PM PDT

  • A Bright Comet Returns - 341 Years Later
    Sky and Telescope - Thursday, March 7, 2002
    Posted on: 3/7/2002 7:42:08 PM PDT

  • Astronomers anticipate meteor "storm" on November 18th
    Sky and Telescope - Friday, November 9, 2001
    Posted on: 11/9/2001 6:48:12 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases