Chandra News


Mission Press Releases

  • Action Replay of Powerful Stellar Explosion
    NASA HQ - Saturday, March 22, 2008
    Posted on: 3/22/2008 1:23:12 PM PDT

  • Possible Progenitor of Special Supernova Type Detected
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Wednesday, February 13, 2008
    Posted on: 2/13/2008 1:00:35 PM PDT

  • Jet Power and Black Hole Assortment Revealed in New Chandra Image
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Saturday, January 12, 2008
    Posted on: 1/12/2008 8:37:24 AM PDT

  • 'Death Star' Galaxy Black Hole Fires at Neighboring Galaxy
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Monday, December 17, 2007
    Posted on: 12/17/2007 8:23:39 PM PDT

  • NASA Chandra X-ray Observatory Discovers Cosmic Fireball
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Wednesday, November 28, 2007
    Posted on: 11/28/2007 10:19:48 AM PDT

  • Stellar Forensics With Striking New Image From NASA Chandra X-ray Observatory
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Wednesday, October 24, 2007
    Posted on: 10/24/2007 2:08:46 PM PDT

  • Heaviest Stellar Black Hole Discovered
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Friday, October 19, 2007
    Posted on: 10/19/2007 10:31:18 AM PDT

  • New deep space images of distant strip of sky to be available on Google
    Imperial College London - Wednesday, October 3, 2007
    Posted on: 10/3/2007 7:10:04 PM PDT

  • Orphan Stars Found in Long Galaxy Trail
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, September 27, 2007
    Posted on: 9/27/2007 3:14:01 PM PDT

  • Dark matter mystery deepens in cosmic 'train wreck'
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, August 16, 2007
    Posted on: 8/16/2007 10:25:41 AM PDT

  • Pirelli Award Recognizes Chandra Podcasts
    Harvard University - Thursday, May 17, 2007
    Posted on: 5/17/2007 11:30:55 AM PDT

  • NASA's Chandra Sees Brightest Supernova Ever
    NASA HQ - Monday, May 7, 2007
    Posted on: 5/7/2007 1:41:18 PM PDT

  • NASA to Announce Extraordinary Stellar Discovery
    NASA HQ - Wednesday, May 2, 2007
    Posted on: 5/2/2007 1:10:22 PM PDT

  • Chandra Sees Remarkable Eclipse of Black Hole
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, April 12, 2007
    Posted on: 4/12/2007 10:47:08 AM PDT

  • New Panorama Reveals More Than 1000 Black Holes
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Monday, March 12, 2007
    Posted on: 3/12/2007 10:49:03 AM PDT

  • NASA's Chandra X-ray Observatory Examines Jupiter During New Horizons Approach
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, March 1, 2007
    Posted on: 3/1/2007 9:22:01 PM PDT

  • Peering into the Pillars of Creation
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, February 15, 2007
    Posted on: 2/15/2007 5:27:52 PM PDT

  • Chandra discovers light echo from the Milky Way's black hole
    Harvard University - Friday, January 12, 2007
    Posted on: 1/12/2007 11:22:08 AM PDT

  • X-Ray Evidence Suports Possible New Class of Supernova
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, January 4, 2007
    Posted on: 1/4/2007 11:40:33 AM PDT

  • Chandra Discovers Relativistic Pinball Machine
    Marshall Space Flight Center - Thursday, November 16, 2006
    Posted on: 11/16/2006 12:01:02 PM PDT

  • No Mission Status Releases