Live TV of NASA Explorer School Teachers at Atacama Desert Moon/Mars Analog Research Site

Press Release From: Ames Research Center
Posted: Thursday, May 25, 2006


Live to You from the Driest Place on Earth!

What are seven NASA Explorer School teachers doing in the Atacama desert in Chile? They are studying side-by-side with NASA scientists who search for life in extreme environments, closely approximating what they expect to find on other planets. Why the Atacama -- an inhospitable, seemingly lifeless, sun drenched spot that is probably the driest place on Earth? This natural environment on Earth poses some of the same challenges for human explorers as would a seemingly lifeless planet. NASA scientists and engineers need this type of landscape to test technology that will hopefully be used in places like the Moon or Mars.

Join these seven teachers during an hour-long webcast, as they share with you this authentic field research experience with world-renowned planetary scientists living and working in this remote Moon/Mars analog research site. The ultimate goal is to leverage these field expedition experiences into classroom use and to spread the word throughout ! the nationwide Explorer School network and beyond.

The webcast from Yungay, Chile via satellite is scheduled for:

Wednesday, June 28

9:00 a.m. PDT, 12 noon local time in Chile and EDT, 4:00 p.m. GMT

Connection to the webcast with simultaneous transcription is at:

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.