NASA Announces New Advisory Council Members

Press Release From: NASA HQ
Posted: Friday, September 22, 2006


NASA Administrator Michael Griffin named nine new members to the NASA Advisory Council on Friday, including Dr. Edward David, Jr., Chair of the Science Committee, and Dr. Paul Robinson, Chair of the new Space Operations Committee.

"These outstanding individuals will add to an already strong group and will greatly assist Chairman Schmitt in meeting the Council's goals," Griffin said. "The charge of the Council and its six standing Committees is to provide me with the best advice possible in the many areas of NASA programs and activities."

The NASA Advisory Council (The "Council") consists of six committees, Aeronautics, Audit and Finance, Exploration, Human Capital, Science, and Space Operations. Council Chairman Harrison H. Schmitt welcomed the new members.

"These accomplished individuals join some of the most experienced and most capable minds in the country serving on the Council, the primary source of outside assistance to Mike Griffin in fulfilling NASA's role in national space policy," Schmitt said. "I am impressed by their accomplishments and look forward to working with them over the next few years."

Schmitt was NASA's first scientist astronaut to fly in space and explored the moon during the Apollo 17 mission. He also served as a U.S. Senator from New Mexico.

The new members and their primary committee assignments are:

Col. Eileen Collins (USAF, Ret.), a retired astronaut, was the first female pilot and commander of the space shuttle. Col. Collins, most recently the commander of STS-114, will serve on the Space Operations Committee.

Lt. Gen. (Dr.) Pat Condon (USAF, Ret.) is the Chairman of the Board of the Air Force Association and will serve on the Space Operations Committee.

Dr. Edward David was the Science Advisor to the President from 1970-1973 and currently is the President of EED, Inc. Dr. David will serve as the Chair of the Science Committee.

Dr. Owen Garriott is a retired scientist astronaut who flew on board the second manned Skylab mission and Spacelab-1. He will serve on the Science Committee.

Dr. Thomas Jones, a retired scientist astronaut and planetologist who flew four Space Shuttle missions, installed the centerpiece module of the International Space Station during his final mission. Dr. Jones will serve on the Space Operations Committee.

Admiral Benjamin Montoya, former Chairman, President and CEO of the Public Service Company of New Mexico, is the Chief Executive Officer of SmartSystems Technologies and will serve on the Space Operations Committee.

Dr. C. Paul Robinson, President Emeritus and former Director of Sandia National Laboratories, will serve as the Chair of the Space Operations Committee.

Dr. Alan Stern is the Executive Director of the Space Science and Engineering Division of the Southwest Research Institute and will serve on the Science Committee.

Dr. John Sullivan is the Director of the Center for Advanced Manufacturing at Purdue University and will serve on the Aeronautics Committee.

The NASA Advisory Council will host its next public meeting on October 12, 2006, at the agency's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.

For information about the NASA Advisory Council, visit:

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

Sword and Planet by Christopher Ruocchio - Baen Books
Agent of the Imperium by Marc Miller - Baen Books