AIAA Announces 2008 Board of Directors Election Results

Press Release From: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Posted: Tuesday, April 15, 2008

April 15, 2008 - Reston, Va. - The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the results of its 2008 Board of Directors election. The newly elected board members will begin their term of office on May 15. Incoming President George K. Mueller will be succeeded next year by President-Elect David W. Thompson.

The newly elected officers and directors are:

President-Elect: David W. Thompson, Orbital Sciences Corporation

Vice President-Elect, Finance: A. Tom Smith, ATS Solutions, Inc.

Vice President-Elect, Publications: Michael B. Bragg, University of Illinois

Vice President-Elect, Standards: Wilson N. Felder, Federal Aviation Administration

Vice President-Elect, International: Mark Maurice, AFRL International Office

Director-International: Takashi Iida, National Institute of Information & Communications Technology (NICT), Japan

Director-At-Large: Bonnie J. Dunbar, Museum of Flight

Director-Technical, Air Transportation Systems and Operations: Neil Pfeiffer, Hawker Beechcraft

Director-Technical, Space and Missiles: Trevor Sorensen, University of Hawaii

Director-Region 1: Jonathan T. Malay, Lockheed Martin

Director-Region 2: Steve R. Noneman, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

In addition, the president of AIAA will appoint Sarah Shull, NASA Johnson Space Center, to a two-year term as Young Professional Liaison.

AIAA advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit .

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter