SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Slooh Space Camera to Celebrate Astronomy Day With 11-hour Celestial Marathon Live from the Canary Islands

Press Release From: SLOOH
Posted: Thursday, October 18, 2012

In an ongoing mission to share a live view of the universe, Slooh, the online Space Camera, will celebrate Astronomy Day [http://www.astroleague.org/al/astroday/astrodayform.html] by producing 11 hours of free, live celestial programming for the world to enjoy. Viewers can watch live on their PC or iOS/Android mobile device.

Live coverage begins on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. PDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT / 19:30 UTC, and ends eleven hours later at 11:30 p.m. PDT / 2:30 a.m. EDT / 06:30 UTC. International times: http://goo.gl/LrBqS

The broadcast will be split into separate shows, which begin on the hour, each focusing on a particular topic and various celestial objects.

Slooh's Paul Cox will host the 11-hour live extravaganza and will be accompanied by several guests, including astronomer Bob Berman. Slooh's broadcast will start by telling the story of our universe illustrated with live images from Slooh's robotic telescopes. From ancient swarms of stars as old as the universe; to galaxies merging in huge cosmic collisions; vast clouds of interstellar gas and dust, where giant hot stars are bursting into life; through to the cataclysmic explosions of stars as they end their lives leaving beautiful nebulae filled with the building blocks for life; and of course our own solar system -- with the gas giant Jupiter and attendant moons, ice giants Neptune and Uranus, and those intriguing leftovers of solar system construction -- comets and near-Earth asteroids. The world will be viewing live images of these and many other objects direct from Slooh's Observatory at the world-class astronomical site in the Canary Islands.

Bob Berman, author and Astronomy magazine columnist says, "I am proud to be part of this marathon-of-the-universe. It's the first time in history that people everywhere can observe dozens of full-color celestial splendors in real time, free on Slooh's homepage, as tracked by major telescopes and displayed on their home monitor or portable device. This may mark a new era in the appreciation of our cosmos."

Contact:
Patrick Paolucci
patrick@slooh.com
+1 877-427-5664 x707

Slooh (http://www.slooh.com) is the leader in live, celestial event programming with weekly shows featuring the great wonders of the universe -- shown live by observatories worldwide. Slooh is powered by its members -- men, women and children in 80 countries who have taken 1.8 million photos of 46,000 unique objects and events in the night sky since our launch on Christmas Day, 2003. Slooh's patented instant imaging technology makes astronomical objects appear in true color and in real time over a 5 to 10 minute time frame.

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

NanoRacks