ESA Survey: Future Educational Cubesat Initiatives

Press Release From: European Space Agency
Posted: Thursday, August 13, 2015


In order to prepare future initiatives for educational CubeSats, ESA's Education Office would like to invite the university student CubeSat community from ESA's Member and Cooperating States to fill out a survey on their ongoing CubeSat projects. The survey consists of 9 questions and takes about 5 minutes to complete. It will remain accessible until 6 September 2015.

The survey can be consulted via this link


For a few years already, ESA's Education Office is very active in offering university students several educational opportunities related to CubeSat satellites.

Up until now, ESA has completed the 'CubeSats on the Vega Maiden Flight' educational programme which involved twelve different CubeSat student teams that were supported by the Education Office, and of which seven student CubeSats were eventually launched on Vega on 13 February 2012.

In the period between October 2012 and March 2013, ESA's Education Office also provided support for the test campaign of the HumSat-D student CubeSat. Based on this initial experience, the Education Office launched the Fly Your Satellite! Programme in 2013. Its first edition is currently ongoing, and it aims at launching a few student CubeSats into orbit in 2016.

In parallel, ESA Education has also taken the opportunity to participate in the first European student CubeSat mission to be deployed from the International Space Station (ISS). This mission is called AAUSAT5, and it is a Danish student CubeSat planned for launch to the ISS on 16 August 2015, for deployment into space a few weeks later.

* ESA Member States in 2015

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Canada (Associate Member)

European Cooperating States
Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia

Cooperating states
Cyprus, Malta

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter