SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA Aura Launch Postponed

Status Report From: Kennedy Space Center
Posted: Tuesday, July 13, 2004

The launch of NASA's Aura spacecraft atop a Boeing Delta II rocket from California has been delayed for at least 24 hours. Launch will occur no earlier than Wednesday, July 14, with a three-minute window at 6:01:59 a.m. EDT (3:01:59 a.m. PDT).

During the final T-20 minute hold before the scheduled launch this morning, spacecraft engineers decided they could not resolve an outstanding issue with a solid-state recorder. The mission management team will convene this afternoon at 6 p.m. EDT to confirm the new launch date of July 14.

On launch day, programming on NASA Television will begin at 4 a.m. EDT (1 a.m. PDT) for the start of fueling of the Delta II. The launch commentary will begin at 4:30 a.m. EDT (1:30 a.m. PDT).

Media covering the launch should meet at the main gate of Vandenberg Air Force Base, Calif., at 2 a.m. PDT Wednesday, July 14, for escort to the Delta press site on north Vandenberg. Media needing accreditation for the launch should call Air Force Lt. Michelle Mayo at 805/606-3595 of the 30th Space Wing Public Affairs Office.

An Aura recorded launch status for the news media is available by dialing 805/734-2693.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter