NASA Exploration of Mars Strategic Roadmap Committee Charter

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Monday, January 3, 2005


The NASA Administrator hereby establishes the NASA Robotic and Human Exploration of Mars Strategic Roadmapping Committee (the “Committee”), having determined that it is in the public interest in connection with the performance of Agency duties under the law, and with the concurrence of the General Services Administration, pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), 5 U.S.C. App. §§ 1 et seq.


1. The Committee will draw on the expertise of its members and other sources to provide advice and recommendations to NASA on Mars exploration, including robotic exploration of Mars to search for evidence of life, to understand the history of the solar system, and to prepare for future human exploration. The purview of the Committee also includes advice and recommendations on human expeditions to Mars after acquiring adequate knowledge about the planet using these robotic missions and after successfully demonstrating sustained human exploration missions to the Moon. Recommendations to be provided by the Committee will help guide Agency program prioritization, budget formulation, facilities and human capital planning, and technology investment.

2. The Committee shall function solely as an advisory body and will comply fully with the provisions of the FACA.

3. The Committee reports to the Associate Deputy Administrator for Systems Integration (ADA-SI) and to the Administrator.


1. The Committee co-chair(s) will be appointed by the Administrator. The remaining Committee members will be appointed by the ADA-SI. Membership will be selected to assure a balanced representation of expertise and points of view within the government, academia, and private industry in scientific and technological areas relevant to the Nation’s space policy.

2. Members will be appointed for a 15-month term, renewable at the discretion of the ADA-SI. However, members serve at the discretion of the ADA-SI.


Subcommittees and/or task forces may be established to conduct special studies requiring an effort of limited duration. Subcommittees and/or task force membership and terms of reference will be approved by the ADA-SI. Such subcommittees and/or task forces will report their findings and recommendations to the Committee.


1. The Committee will meet approximately three to four times during a 15-month period. Meetings will be open to the public unless it is determined that the meeting, or a portion of the meeting, will be closed in accordance with the Government in the Sunshine Act, or that the meeting is not covered by FACA.

2. The Executive Secretary of the Committee will be appointed by the ADA-SI and will serve as the Designated Federal Official.

3. The Advanced Planning and Integration Office will provide staff support and operating funds for the Committee and is responsible for reporting requirements of section 6(b) of the FACA.

4. The operating costs for its expected duration of 15 months are estimated to be $200,000 including 0.25 work years of staff support.


The Committee shall terminate 15 months from the date of this charter unless terminated before that date or subsequently renewed by the NASA Administrator.

[Signed] Sean O'Keefe Administrator


Committee Roster

  • Alphonso Diaz, NASA Science Mission Directorate, co-chair
  • Charles Elachi, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, co-chair
  • A. Thomas Young, Lockheed Martin (retired), co-chair
  • Ray Arvidson, Washington University
  • Robert Braun, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • James Cameron, producer/writer/director
  • Aaron Cohen, Texas A & M University
  • Steven Dorfman, Hughes Electronics (retired)
  • Linda Godwin, Johnson Space Center
  • Noel Hinners, Lockheed Martin (retired)
  • Kent Kresa, Northrup Grumman
  • Gentry Lee, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Laurie Leshin, Arizona State University
  • Shannon Lucid, Johnson Space Center
  • Paul Mahaffy, Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Christopher McKay, Ames Research Center
  • Sally Ride, University of California, San Diego
  • Lawrence Soderblom, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Steven Squyres, Cornell University
  • Margaret (Peggy) Whitson, Johnson Space Center

Michael Meyer, Directorate Coordinator, Designated Federal Official

  • Judith Robey, Advanced Planning and Integration Office Coordinator

Ex Officio and Liaison

  • Douglas Cooke, Exploration Systems Mission Directorate, ex officio
  • Orlando Figueroa, Science Mission Directorate, ex officio
  • James Garvin, NASA Chief Scientist, ex officio
  • William Gerstenmaier, Johnson Space Center
  • Michael Hawes, Space Operations Mission Directorate, ex officio
  • Daniel McCleese, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, ex officio
  • Douglas McCuistion, Science Mission Directorate, ex officio
  • Firouz Naderi, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, ex officio
  • Michelle Viotti, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Education Strategic Roadmap Committee Liaison
  • Joseph Wood, Advanced Planning and Systems Integration

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.