Lunar Crater Names for the Columbia Astronauts Provisionally Approved

Status Report From: U.S. Geological Survey
Posted: Saturday, April 8, 2006


Names for seven craters in the Apollo basin on the Moon have been provisionally approved by the IAU to honor the seven Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts. The names can be seen in the gazetteer list of named lunar features  and on the image of the farside of the Moon.

The names are:

  • Husband
  • McCool
  • Chawla
  • L. Clark
  • M. Anderson
  • D. Brown
  • Ramon

Note that first initials have been used for Anderson, Brown, and Clark to distingiush them from other crater names on the Moon which honor persons with the same surnames.

ENTRY_POSTED_BY Jennifer_Blue on Thursday, March 23. 2006 at 08:29.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.