SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NOAA SEC Space Weather Advisory Bulletin #06-5: Geomagnetic Storm in Progress

Status Report From: Space Weather Prediction Center (NOAA)
Posted: Thursday, December 14, 2006

image

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY BULLETIN #06- 5

2006 December 14 at 10:04 a.m. MST (2006 December 14 1704 UTC)

**** GEOMAGNETIC STORM IN PROGRESS ****

A geomagnetic storm began on December 14 at 1416 UTC (9:16 A.M. EST). A solar flare on 13 December at 0240 UTC (12 December, 9:40 P.M. EST) from NOAA Region 930 produced strong radio blackouts (R3) and an associated moderate (S2) solar radiation storm. A large Earth-directed coronal mass ejection was also observed with this event, producing today's geomagnetic storming. Strong to severe (G3 G4) geomagnetic storming is expected to last through 15 December.

Region 930 is a large sunspot group which is still rotating across the visible disk. Because of the current position of Region 930, additional activity has greater potential to quickly impact Earth. Agencies impacted by space weather storms should continue to closely monitor space weather conditions during the next four days.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA, USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More information is available at SEC's Web site http://sec.noaa.gov

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter