SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA Education Opportunities: 2009 Earth Day DLN Event and 2009 Cassini Scientist for a Day Contest

Status Report From: NASA Education Office
Posted: Monday, April 6, 2009

Digital Learning Network to Host Earth Day Event With a Live Performance of "Bella Gaia"

Celebrate Earth Day with a live performance of "Bella Gaia"!

On April 22, 2009, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center's Digital Learning Network is hosting an exhilarating event with composer and musician Kenji Williams. Let your students experience Earth Day in a whole new light by participating in an event that marries art with science. Kenji Williams will perform "Bella Gaia" against the backdrop of amazing NASA imagery of Earth, allowing viewers to see our planet just as the astronauts do when in orbit. This live webcast will be broadcast at 10 a.m. EDT/7 a.m. PDT, and again at 2 p.m. EDT/11 a.m. PDT. After the performance, participants have the opportunity to submit questions to Williams relating to his education and career choices or the creative method of designing such an intrinsic composition.

For more information about this DLN event, visit http://dln.nasa.gov.

Entries for the Spring 2009 Cassini Scientist for a Day Essay Contest Due April 30, 2009

The Cassini Scientist for a Day contest challenges students to become NASA scientists studying Saturn. Participants examine three target images taken by Cassini and choose the one they think will yield the best scientific results. This choice must then be supported in a 500-word essay. Teaming up is encouraged. Winners will participate in a teleconference with Cassini scientists.

The contest is open to all students in the United States from grades 5-12, working alone or in groups of up to four students. The essays will be divided into three groups: grades 5-6, 7-8 and 9-12. All submissions must be students' original work. Each student can submit only one entry.

Deadline for Spring 2009 submissions is noon Pacific time (3 p.m. EDT) on April 30, 2009 .

For more information, visit http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/scientistforaday/ . If you have questions about this contest, please e-mail your inquiries to scientistforaday@jpl.nasa.gov.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.