SpaceRef

SpaceRef


LRO/LCROSS Pre-launch Webcast Set for June 16, 2009

Status Report From: NASA Education Office
Posted: Tuesday, June 9, 2009

image NASA has set the launch date for the LRO (Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter) and the LCROSS (Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite) missions. These missions will launch together on June 17, 2009, aboard an Atlas V rocket from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.

This date has been anticipated by not just the NASA mission scientists, but by students and teachers who are engaged in the operations and science of this very special return-to-the-moon effort.

Join NASA for a Launch Minus One webcast where viewers will be introduced to some of these crucial participants. Viewers will also learn how to become involved in the project firsthand.

The webcast will take place on June 16, 2009, at 11:00 a.m. EDT (8 a.m. PDT and 1500 GMT).

For more information about the webcast, visit http://lcross.arc.nasa.gov/webcast.htm .

Questions about this event should be directed to Linda Conrad at Linda.B.Conrad@nasa.gov.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.