SpaceRef

SpaceRef


New Radar Image: Asteroid 2005 YU55 Approaches Close Earth Flyby

Status Report From: Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Posted: Monday, November 7, 2011



This radar image of asteroid 2005 YU55 was obtained on Nov. 7, 2011, at 11:45 a.m. PST (2:45 p.m. EST/1945 UTC), when the space rock was at 3.6 lunar distances, which is about 860,000 miles, or 1.38 million kilometers, from Earth. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech. Larger image

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.