SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA Sees Tropical Cyclone Glenda May be Developing an Eye

Status Report From: Goddard Space Flight Center
Posted: Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Tropical Cyclone Glenda is strengthening in the Southern Indian Ocean and NASA's Aqua satellite saw a potential eye developing when it passed overhead on Feb. 25. 

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Cyclone Glenda on Feb. 25 at 08:55 UTC (3:55 a.m. EST). The image shows bands of thunderstorms wrapping around and into the low-level center of circulation, and the hint of an eye developing.

Tropical Storm 14S has been renamed Tropical Storm Glenda as it continued to strengthen. At 0900 UTC (4 a.m. EST) on Feb. 25, Glenda's maximum sustained winds were near 55 knots (63.2 mph/102 kph). It was centered near 17.6 south latitude and 69.1 east longitude, about 661 nautical miles (760 miles/1,224 km) south-southwest of Diego Garcia. Glenda was moving to the west-southwest at 7 knots (8 mph/13 kph).

Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center expect Glenda to strengthen near 95 knots (109.3 mph/176 kph) before beginning to weaken in a couple of days. Glenda is no threat to land and is expected to turn to the southeast and become extra-tropical.

 

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

NanoRacks