SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Tropical Cyclone Maysak Tracks Over Northern Philippines and Dissipates

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Monday, April 6, 2015

Tropical Cyclone Maysak weakened to a tropical storm before making landfall in Luzon, Philippines on April 5 and dissipating a day later. NASA's Aqua satellite captured the storm making landfall.

On April 4, the once Category 5 storm on the Saffir-Simpson hurricane wind scale had weakened to a tropical storm before it made landfall in Luzon, Philippines. At 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT) on April 4, Maysak's maximum sustained winds were near 60 knots (69 mph/111 kph). It was centered near 15.7 north and 124.2 east, about 197 nautical miles (226.7 miles/ 364.8 km) east-northeast of Manila.

On April 5 at 02:45 UTC, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Storm Maysak as it made landfall in Luzon, Philippines.

Tropical Depression Maysak tracked across the northern Philippines and emerged into the South China Sea. Maysak, called Chedeng in the Philippines, was about 365 nautical miles (420 miles/676 km) southeast of Hong Kong at 2100 UTC (5 p.m. EDT) on April 5. By that time Maysak's maximum sustained winds had dropped to 25 knots (28.7 mph/46.3 kph) after moving over the terrain of the northern Philippines

In that final warning about the system, the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) noted that "animated enhanced infrared satellite imagery reveals that the bulk of the deep convection has warmed and sheared away from the low level circulation center, which has unraveled over the past 12 hours. Recent microwave images still indicate a broad area of cyclonic turning, but there is no defined system center."

By April 6, 2015, ex-tropical cyclone Maysak dissipated over the South China Sea.

 

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.