SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Terra Satellite Sees the End of Tropical Depression 14W

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Tuesday, August 4, 2015

On Aug. 4 the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured this visible-light image of a weaker Tropical Depression 14W. Credits: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Depression 14W appeared as a swirl of clouds with some thunderstorms south of the center on imagery from NASA's Terra satellite.

On Aug. 4 at 4:00 UTC (12:00 a.m. EDT) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer, or MODIS, instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible-light image of a weaker Tropical Depression 14W. The image showed that some thunderstorms were flaring up on the southern side of the center, while the rest of the storm appeared devoid of precipitation.

At 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT) on Aug. 4, 14W's maximum sustained winds were near 20 knots (23 mph/37 kph). It was centered near 31.7 North latitude and 128.0 East longitude, about 231 nautical miles (265.8 miles/427.8 km) south-southeast of Yokosuka, Japan. 14W was moving to the west-northwest at 9 knots (10.3 mph/16.6 kph).

That report marked the final warning on this system by the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC), Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. However, the JTWC will monitor the storm for possible regeneration.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.