SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA sees Tropical Storm Etau approaching Japan

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Tuesday, September 8, 2015

NASA's Terra satellite passed over the Northwestern Pacific Ocean early on September 8 and captured an image of newborn Tropical Storm Etau approaching Japan.

The eighteenth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean typhoon season formed near the island of Iwo To, Japan on Sunday, September 7. NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Storm Etau on September 8, 2015 at 01:30 UTC (Sept. 6 at 9:30 p.m. EDT) and captured a visible image of the storm that showed that the northern fringes of the storm were already spreading over the big island of Japan. Etau appeared somewhat elongated as it did in imagery on Sept. 7, however, thick bands of thunderstorms were wrapping into the center from the eastern and southern quadrants.

At 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) on September 8, Etau was centered near 29.9 North latitude and 138.1 East longitude, about 379 nautical miles (436 miles/ 701.9 km) south of Yokosuka, Japan. Etau was moving to the north at 14 knots (16.1 mph/25.3 kph). Etau's maximum sustained winds were near 45 knots (51.7 mph/83.3 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) forecast calls for Etau to make landfall near Kyoto, Japan late on September 8/early September 9 then cross into the Sea of Japan.

The JTWC forecast discussion noted that "The system will begin to decay due to land interaction, specifically with the peaks of the Daikå Mountain Range." As the Etau moves just north of Kyoto, vertical wind shear is forecast to increase and cooler sea surface temperatures in the Sea of Japan will lead to its dissipation.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter