SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Typhoon Dujuan gives NASA an eye-opening performance

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Friday, September 25, 2015

Former Tropical Storm Dujuan strengthened into a typhoon and when NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead it got a clear look at the storm's new large eye.

NASA's Terra satellite passed over Dujuan on September 25, 2015 at 02:15 UTC (Sept. 24 at 10:15 p.m. EDT) and the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument took a visible picture of the storm. Dujuan's eye had become visible from space. Dujuan's eye is about 25 nautical miles (28.7 miles/46.3 km) wide.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) on September 25, 2015 the center of Tropical Storm Dujuan was located near latitude 20.1 North, longitude 131.0 East. That's about 444 nautical miles (510 miles/822.3 km) south-southeast of Kadena Air Base, Okinawa, Japan.

Dujuan was moving toward the northwest near 8 knots (9.2 mph/14.8 kph). Maximum sustained winds were near 80 knots (92.0 mph/148.2 kph) and Dujuan is expected to peak on September 27 with maximum sustained winds near 115 knots (132 mph/213 kph) before weakening commences.

Dujuan is expected to track just north of Ishigakijima Island, Japan on September 27, and pass just north of Taiwan before making landfall in southeastern China on September 29.

For updated forecast tracks visit the Joint Typhoon Warning Center page: http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/. For forecast updates from Taiwan's Central Weather Bureau, visit: http://www.cwb.gov.tw/eng/. For forecast updates and warnings and watches from China's Meteorological Administration, visit: http://www.cma.gov.cn/en2014/weather/Warnings/.Center page: http://www.usno.navy.mil/JTWC/.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

NanoRacks