SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA captures Typhoon Dujuan's landfall in southeastern China

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Tuesday, September 29, 2015

NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Typhoon Dujuan as it made landfall in southeastern China.

On September 29 at 0300 UTC (Sept. 28 at 11 p.m. EDT), the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) issued their final bulletin on Dujuan. At that time, the center of Dujuan was located near 25.3 North latitude and 118.6 East longitude, about 131 nautical miles west of Taipei, Taiwan.

Dujuan's maximum sustained winds were near 75 knots (86 mph/138.9 kph), making it still the strength of a Category 1 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson Wind Scale. Dujuan was moving to the northwest at 11 knots (12.6 mph/20.3 kph) and continued tracking inland.

When Aqua passed over Dujuan at 05:00 UTC (1 a.m. EDT) on Sept. 29, the strongest storms were on the eastern side of the storm, over the Taiwan Strait (the body of water between southeastern China and the island of Taiwan). Animated multispectral satellite imagery and radar imagery showed that the thunderstorms were weakening over the western quadrant of the storm.

The National Meteorological Center (NMA) continued to issue orange warning of typhoon at 6:00 a.m. local time on September 29. For current warnings from the China's NMA, visit: http://www.cma.gov.cn/en2014/weather/Warnings/ActiveWarnings/201509/t20150929_294049.html

Dujuan is moving along the southwestern edge of a sub-tropical ridge or elongated area of high pressure and is forecast to move northward ahead of an approaching area of low pressure. Forecasters at the JTWC expect Dujuan to weaken quickly as it moves north and dissipate by October 1.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.