SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA sees new tropical storm affecting the Philippines

Status Report From: NASA HQ
Posted: Thursday, October 1, 2015

Tropical Storm 22W formed quickly just east of the Philippines as NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed overhead on October 1.

When Suomi NPP passed over the newly formed storm at 05:31 UTC (1:31 a.m. EDT), the Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard captured a visible image of Tropical Storm 22W centered in the Luzon region of the Philippines. A large, thick band of thunderstorms wrapped into the low-level circulation center from the north and over the Philippine Sea.

There are many warnings in effect for October 1 in the Philippines. Public storm warning signal #1 is in effect in the Luzon provinces of Southern Isabela, Ifugao, Mt. Province, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Benguet, Nueva Viscaya, Nueva Ecija, Quirino, Pangasinan, Zambales, Tarlac, Pampanga, Bulacan, Catanduanes, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Aurora and Northern Quezon including Polillo Island.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC), Tropical Storm 22W, named "Kabayan" locally, was centered near 15.2 North latitude and 122.7 East longitude, about 105 nautical miles east-northeast of Manila, Philippines. It had maximum sustained winds near 35 knots (40 mph/ 64.8 kph) and was moving to the northwest at 15 knots (17.2 mph/27.7 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects 22W to move across Luzon in a west-northwesterly direction and emerge in the South China Sea. The storm is expected to make a final landfall in southeastern China, north of Hainan Island sometime on October 4.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.